Please activate your cookies to switch the language.

 

11/06/2020 | 16:00 EST | Online event

INVITATION TO LIVE-WEBINAR : "Reading Margaret Atwood: Cultural interpretation in the classroom" November 6, 2020" 4 p.m.

The Education Program at the Embassy of Canada in Berlin invites teachers, trainee teachers and student teachers to a webinar on the topic “Reading Margaret Atwood: Cultural interpretation in the classroom”.

It’s all about literature for us these days as we are celebrating Canada's presence as Guest of Honour at the "Special Edition" of Frankfurt Book Fair 2020! 

In the webinar on November 6, 2020, we would like to take you into the world of Margaret Atwood, one of Canada’s most famous authors, whose novel "The Handmaid's Tale" has long since found its way into many English courses. 

Now, with her novel "The Testaments", the long-awaited and highly acclaimed sequel has been released! In cooperation with our partners Jutta Brendemuehl and Cornelsen-Verlag, we have published our latest teaching material, and we would like to present it to you in this webinar. 

We are gladly looking forward to the contributions of renowned Atwood experts and of dedicated teachers, who will share their knowledge with you and prepare you for bringing Margaret Atwood into your classroom: 

Caroline Rosenthal - Professor of American Studies at Friedrich-Schiller-University of Jena - will contribute important background knowledge on Margaret Atwood and her works and share with us her thoughts on "The Testaments" from a current scientific perspective. 

Verena Plomer - Teacher, lecturer and author at Klett-Sprachen - will provide insight into her extensive experience in teaching Margaret Atwood and inspire you with new ideas for practical use.  

Matthias Dickert - Teacher at Grimmelshausen Gymnasium - reports on his practical teaching experiences with our material. His class even provides some results of the teaching unit for our webinar. Many thanks for this!

The Education Program team will also provide you with insider tips on free digital Canadian platforms where you can find a wide range of inspiration to supplement your lessons or to prepare your own lesson on Margaret Atwood. 

The webinar will be held in English.

Please use the following link to register. We look forward to this virtual meeting with you.

Your Education Program at the Embassy of Canada in Berlin 

Online registration

Um die Sprache zu wechseln, müssen Cookies aktiviert sein.

 

06.11.2020 | 16:00 Uhr | Online event

EINLADUNG ZUM LIVE-WEBINAR: "Margaret Atwoods Romanwelten: Literatur- und Kulturkompetenz im Englischunterricht vermitteln" 06.11.2020, 16:00

Das Bildungsprogramm der Botschaft von Kanada in Berlin lädt Kanada-interessierte Lehrkräfte, angehende Lehrkräfte sowie Lehramtsstudierende herzlich ein zu einem Webinar zum Thema:  „Margaret Atwoods Romanwelten: Literatur- und Kulturkompetenz im Englischunterricht“. 

Alles dreht sich derzeit bei uns um das Thema Literatur, denn in diesem Jahr feiern wir den Auftritt Kanadas als Ehrengast bei der „Special Edition“ der Frankfurter Buchmesse! 

Im Webinar am 6. November 2020 möchten wir Sie mitnehmen in die Welt von Margaret Atwood, eine der berühmtesten kanadischen Schriftstellerinnen. Ihr Roman „The Handmaid’s Tale“ hat auch längst Einzug gehalten hat in viele Englischkurse der Oberstufe. 

Nun ist mit ihrem Roman „Die Zeuginnen“ („The Testaments“) die lang ersehnte und viel beachtete Fortsetzung erschienen! In Kooperation mit unserer Partnerin Jutta Brendemuehl und dem Cornelsen-Verlag ist dazu unser neuestes Unterrichtsmaterial erschienen, das wir Ihnen im Webinar präsentieren möchten. 

Außerdem freuen wir uns sehr auf die Beiträge renommierter Atwood-Expertinnen sowie engagierter Lehrkräfte aus der Praxis, die Ihr Wissen mit Ihnen teilen und Sie damit optimal auf den Einsatz unseres Unterrichtsmaterials vorbereiten werden: 

Caroline Rosenthal – Professorin für Amerikanistik an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena – steuert wichtiges Hintergrundwissen zu Margaret Atwood und ihren Werken bei und teilt mit uns Ihre Gedanken zu „Die Zeuginnen“ aus aktueller fachwissenschaftlicher Sicht. 

Verena Plomer – Studienrätin, Dozentin und Autorin bei Klett-Sprachen – gibt Einblick in Ihren umfangreichen Erfahrungsschatz zum Unterrichten von Margaret Atwood und inspiriert Sie mit neuen Ideen für die Praxis.  

Matthias Dickert – Studienrat am Gymnasium Grimmelshausen – berichtet von seinen praktischen Unterrichtserlebnissen mit unserem Material. Seine Klasse stellt sogar einige Resultate der Unterrichtseinheit für unser Webinar zur Verfügung. Vielen Dank dafür!

Wir vom Bildungsprogramm versorgen Sie außerdem mit Insider-Tipps zu frei zugänglichen kanadischen Plattformen, auf denen Sie vielfältige Inspiration zur Unterrichtsergänzung oder zur eigenen Vorbereitung einer Unterrichtseinheit zu Margaret Atwood finden. 


Das Webinar findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Wir bitten um Anmeldung über folgenden Link und freuen uns auf das virtuelle Treffen mit Ihnen.

Ihr Bildungsprogramm der Botschaft von Kanada in Berlin

Online-Registrierung